7 EU Member States Signed a Joint Blockchain Statement

In November 2018, the European Commission announced the launch of a new blockchain association with 5 large banks. The initiative aims to develop guidelines and protocols for the blockchain industry, as well as the international promotion of blockchain standards.

Seven EU Member States will partner in promoting the benefits of blockchain technologies for better public services and the economy as a whole.

France, Italy, Spain, Malta, Cyprus, Greece and Portugal signed a joint declaration in Brussels to promote the introduction of the blockchain technology in the region to “transform” their economies, reports CoinDesk.

According to the document, the blockchain technology can substantially increase the transparency and efficiency of government services – from education and health, to transport and customs control.

The EU, as a whole, has not yet adopted a blockchain technology regulation, on the contrary – The Union applies different initiatives to promote the system.